The Aspirin Mask

If you read beauty and skin care related message boards every now and then, you probably know what the DIY aspirin mask is. There are a lot of recipes, but the main ingredients invariably are:

– a few crushed (non coated) aspirins

– a few drops of water

– a few drops of honey (if you’re looking for an astringent effect) or aloe vera (to soothen the skin)

Sometimes yoghurt or moisturizer are added, depending on the likes and needs of the user.

The mask caught my attention after I had been asked  a question by a very nice sales lady, who helped me try out a new foundation: “Have you just had a treatment? The pores on your nose are really wide open.”

Nooo, I did not just have a treatment! So (ofcourse) the slightly manic mission that day was finding something to fix My Wide Pores.  I was looking for a cosmetic/ skin care product, but a few Googles later everything seemed to point in the direction of the aspirin mask. As it even got rave reviews of the sensitive skin community, I decided to give it a try.

The procedure is a bit messy: you make the concoction, apply it where needed, wait for about 10 to 15 minutes, then rinse of with lukewarm water. My mixture contained honey, which made it very sticky.

Although my skin felt really soft and not irritated (slightly red, but that didn’t last for long) I was not convinced of the astringent properties. I repeated the procedure a few times (always with 5 days in between, as I could imagine it can be pretty rough when used frequently) but the effect was minimal.

My Wide Pores probably did benefit a little bit, but I find it too much of a hassle for the minimal results I got.

Not my thing, I’m afraid. Does anyone else has had better results with it?

 

Comments are closed.

